top of page

How To: Crochet with a Tiny Hook

Hello there my lovelies! Welcome to the first "How To" series to the blog, where I help share and showcase my little tips, tricks and pointers to crocheting, running a side hustle and creating a brand behind your little (or big, you go girl!) business.


This week we're focusing on how to crochet with a tiny crochet; And for me, 3.75mm is pretty dang tiny. So, if you've been curious on how to make these tiny hooks work for you, and what I've been making with them (it's not what you think), then keep on reading below.



It's been quiet sometime since I posted up here, as it seems like the month of August has been anything but easy, but we almost made it through. My favorite season is almost here, and you guessed it, it's Fall (duh!) For a fiber arts maker it's the start of a new season of chilly and crisp weather, and where all our ideas start flowing to us. Lately I've been obsessed with earring making, it's what has been filling my creative spot in my brain. But not just any earring making, earring making out of worsted yarn. Yup, may sound crazy, but you can get some seriously amazing texture behind them, However to make earrings from worsted yarn and in order for them to look clean and crisp, you need to use a tiny hook. Now I know what you're thinking, "Lauren, I dread those hooks like he devil and I'm not going to use one, nope." Well, good for you sister but let's shift your mindset just a little because I can assure you that they aren't as daunting as they appear.


Here are my tricks and tips to using a tiny hook (even with some not so tiny yarn):

1). TENSION. If you crochet, or especially knit then you know that tension will literally make or break a beautiful fiber creation. When working with a tiny hook, make sure your tension isn't that tight. Now you want it still tight where your work looks put together, but since we have a littler surface area to pull our hook through, you need to make sure your tension has some give so when we YO and pull through loops on our hook we aren't struggling to complete a stitch.


2). Take your time! It may sound like a no-brainier, but if you're trying to work super fast while working with a tiny hook for the first time, you're not going to be able to cruise at your fast-flying speed like you do with your handy 6.5mm hook. If you're making the Boho Bloom or Eden Earring pattern of mine, both work up SO FAST as it is, that it's ok to take your time, that way it'll ensure you don't drop and stitches.


3). Hook types. Most crocheters have a perferred hook or brand of hook them love using. I've found that I really love the Loops & Threads Aluminum Crochet Hook from Michaels. You can find it here, or in any local Michaels Stores. My favorite? They're super cheap so I always pick up a couple just as backup. I figure that aluminum hooks help grab the yarn better then wooden or bamboo hooks for such small pieces.


4). PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE. When I was designing the Boho Bloom and Eden Earring pattern, I made sure I familiarized myself with such a small hook and much larger yarn for a while. I made sure my tension was comfortable and practiced gripping the much smaller hook then what I'm used to, before actually moving on to the finished designs.


These few but simple steps can help ensure that you stay positive and happy when working with a much smaller tool then you're used to. Plus, once you've read and utilized the above tips you can put your skills to the test!


If you head to my Etsy shop right here, you can purchase the Boho Bloom or Eden Earrings pattern. Both are super fun and simply to make. (Did I mention they're great for gifts, bridesmaid gifts, thank you presents, for teachers, your MIL, your best friend, daughter.. I think you get the point!) PLUS with only 8 yards for each pattern, they can help bust down your scarp yarn pile.



Click the pictures below to check out and purchase the pattern!






I hope these tips and tricks for the first "How To" section help put a little confidence into your crocheting ability with tiny crochet hooks. If you made either of these patterns, please feel free to share them with me on Instagram or Facebook and tag @MIHandmadeHome.

xo,

Lauren

95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page